Skip to Content

National Parks of the Intermountain Region

Eight states make up the Intermountain Region of the National Park Service.  This region is responsible for managing 55 park service sites and 13 associated sites ranging in size from less than an acre to over a hundred thousand acres.  This region was created in 1995 with the consolidation of the Rocky Mountain and Southwest Region.

States of the Intermountain Region

Intermountain Placeholder
TypeNPS Units
National Parks18
National Monument12
National Preserve2
National Historical Park12
National Historic Site7
International Historic Site
National Battlefield Park
National Military Park
National Battlefield
National Battlefield Site
National Memorial1
National Recreation Area7
National Seashore1
National Lakeshore
National River
National Reserve2
National Parkway
National Trail

National Park Service Units of the Intermountain

National Parks of the Intermountain

National Monuments of the Intermountain

  • Alibates Flint Quarries National Monument (TX)
  • Aztec Ruins National Monument (NM)
  • Bandelier National Monument (NM)
  • Canyon De Chelly National Monument (AZ)
  • Capulin Volcano National Monument (NM)
  • Casa Grande Ruins National Monument (AZ)
  • Cedar Breaks National Monument (UT)
  • Chiricahua National Monument (AZ)
  • Colorado National Monument (CO)
  • Dinosaur National Monument (CO, UT)
  • El Malpais National Monument (NM)
  • El Morro National Monument (NM)
  • Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument (CO)
  • Fort Union National Monument (NM)
  • Gila Cliff Dwellings National Monument (NM)
  • Hohokam Pima National Monument (AZ)
  • Hovenweep National Monument (CO, UT)
  • Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument (MT, WY)
  • Montezuma Castle National Monument (AZ)
  • Natural Bridges National Monument (UT)
  • Navajo National Monument (AZ)
  • Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument (AZ)
  • Petroglyph National Monument (NM)
  • Pipe Spring National Monument (AZ)
  • Rainbow Bridge National Monument (UT)
  • Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument (NM)
  • Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument (AZ)
  • Timpanogos Cave National Monument (UT)
  • Tonto National Monument (AZ)
  • Tuzigoot National Monument (AZ)
  • Waco Mammoth National Monument (TX)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (AZ)
  • Wupatki National Monument (AZ)
  • Yucca House National Monument (CO)

National Preserves of the Intermountain

  • Big Thicket National Preserve (TX)
  • Great Sand Dunes National Preserve (CO)
  • Valles Caldera National Preserve (NM)

National Historical Parks of the Intermountain

  • Chaco Culture National Historical Park (NM)
  • Golden Spike National Historical Park (UT)
  • Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park (TX)
  • Manhattan Project National Historical Park (NM, TN, WA)
  • Nez Perce National Historical Park (ID, MT, OR, WA)
  • Palo Alto Battlefield National Historical Park (TX)
  • Pecos National Historical Park (NM)
  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park (TX)
  • Tumacacori National Historical Park (AZ)

National Historic Sites of the Intermountain

  • Bent’s Old Fort National Historic Site (CO)
  • Fort Bowie National Historic Site (AZ)
  • Fort Davis National Historic Site (TX)
  • Fort Smith National Historic Site (OK)
  • Fort Union Trading Post National Historic Site (MT, WY)
  • Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site (MT, WY)
  • Hubbell Trading Post National Historic Site (AZ)
  • Sand Creek Massacre National Historic Site (CO)
  • Washita Battlefield National Historic Site (OK)

National Battlefields of the Intermountain

  • Big Hole National Battlefield (MT, WY)

National Memorials of the Intermountain

  • Chamizal National Memorial (TX)
  • Coronado National Memorial (AZ)

National Recreation Areas of the Intermountain

  • Amistad National Recreation Area (TX)
  • Bighorn Canyon National Recreation Area (MT, WY)
  • Chickasaw National Recreation Area (OK)
  • Curecanti National Recreation Area (CO)
  • Glen Canyon National Recreation Area (AZ, UT)
  • Lake Mead National Recreation Area (AZ)
  • Lake Meredith National Recreation Area (TX)

National Seashores of the Intermountain

  • Padre Island National Seashore (TX)

National Rivers of the Intermountain

  • Rio Grande Wild and Scenic River (TX)

Associated Units of the Intermountain

Associated National Trails of the Intermountain

  • California National Historic Trail (CA, CO, ID, KS, MO, NE, NV, OR, UT, WY)
  • EL Camino Real de los Tejas National Historic Trail (TX)
  • El Camino Real de Tierra Adentro National Historic Trail (NM, TX)
  • Ice Age Floods Geologic Trail (WA, OR, ID, MT)
  • Juan Bautista de Anza National Historic Trail (AZ, CA)
  • Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail (ID, IL, IA, KS, MO, MT, NE, ND, OR, SD, WA)
  • Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail (IL, IA, NE, UT, WY)
  • Old Spanish National Historic Trail (AZ, CA, CO, NV, NM, UT)
  • Pony Express National Historic Trail (CA, CO, KS, MO, NE, NV, UT, WY)
  • Santa Fe National Historic Trail (CO, KS, MO, NM, OK)
  • Trail of Tears National Historic Trail (AL, AR, GA, IL, KY, MO, NC, OK, TN)

Associated National Memorial of the Intermountain

  • Oklahoma City National Memorial (OK)

Associated National Monuments of the Intermountain

  • Parashant National Monument (AZ)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.